Difference Between State Government and Union Government of India

State Government vs Union Government of India

Difference between state government and union government of India is mainly in the responsibility of each government section. India has a parliamentary democracy system of governance with bicameral legislature both at the central as well as state levels. The Union of India is divided into 29 states that have their own elected governments in place. There is a well laid out constitution that defines the roles, functions, and responsibilities of both the central as well as state governments so that they keep functioning within their domains without any friction. There are many differences in these duties that will be harped upon in this article.

More about Union Government of India

Union government of India is also known as the central government of India. India is a sovereign, socialist, secular, democratic republic. Though the government in India is federal in nature like the US, the central government in India has more powers than the federal government in US. This is where the polity in India gets closer to the parliamentary system of democracy of UK. The constitution of India talks about subjects (union list) that are within the jurisdiction of the central government, those that are within the jurisdiction of state governments (state list), and a concurrent list in which both central as well as state governments can make laws. National defense, foreign policy, currency and monetary policies are in Union list and looked after exclusively by central government. Central government has no role to play in the subjects that come under the state list. The leader of the Union government is the Prime Minister as he is the one with executive powers.